Views from the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Nick Black awarded international Career Achievement Prize for work on patient reported outcomes

Nick Black receives his awardNick Black, Professor of Health Services Research at the School, has been awarded a Career Achievement Prize in recognition of his career-long contribution to advancing the use of patient reported outcome measures (PROMs).

The inaugural $20,000 (USD) prize is awarded by the US Health Assessment Lab and the Medical Outcomes Trust and is named in honour of their founders, Dr John Ware and Dr Alvin Tarlov – two of the world’s leading pioneers in the development and use of PROMs. Nominations were solicited worldwide and candidates were reviewed by a panel of peers. The award was presented at the 2013 meeting of the International Society for Quality in Healthcare.

Presenting the prize, Dr Lisa Zubkoff, a director of the Health Assessment Lab,  recognised that Prof Black had “over the past 23 years, contributed to the development of new instruments, their application in research to evaluate specific heath technologies (particularly in surgery), pioneering work on introducing PROMs into routine assessment of health care quality, and key methodological enquiries into the properties of PROMs in routine use and how best to use them for comparing health care providers.”

“The Health Assessment Lab, Medical Outcomes Trust, International Society for Quality in Healthcare, and the selection committee can think of no more worthy recipient for the first John Ware and Alvin Tarlov Career Achievement Prize than Professor Nick Black.”

Prof Black said: “It’s a great honour to receive such recognition from my peers around the world particularly at a time when many governments are accepting the key role of patient reported outcome measures in achieving high quality health care.”

Prof Black will be speaking at the Patient Reported Outcome Measures Research Conference at the Kings Fund on 3 December.

Image: Nick Black (right) receiving his Career Achievement Prize from Lisa Zobkoff (HAL/MOT) and Philip Hassen (Past President ISQua)

Comments are closed.