Partner study institutions

This network of African community‐based HIV cohort studies, funded by the Wellcome Trust, has been in existence since 2005, bringing together six research institutes from Uganda, Tanzania, Malawi, Zimbabwe and South Africa. In 2010, it expanded to include another four study partners from Kenya, Tanzania and South Africa.

All of the research institutes participating in the ALPHA Network are independently managed, have their own scientific agendas and tailored research methodologies, but share a common interest in HIV epidemiology and its interactions with the socio-demographic characteristics of the populations they covered.

  1. Rakai study: Managed by Makerere University and Uganda Virus Research Institute (UVRI) in collaboration with Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, USA.
  2.  Masaka district, Uganda (Kyamulibwa general population cohort): manged by UVRI in collaboration with UK Medical Research Council (MRC)
  3. Kisumu study in Siaya and Rarieda districts of Kenya managed by Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI) in collaboration with the US Centre for Disease Control (CDC)
  4. Nairobi urban cohort study managed by the Africa Population Health Research Centre (APHRC), Kenya
  5. Kisesa open cohort study in Magu district, managed by the TAZAMA programme at the National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR) Mwanza campus, Tanzania
  6. Ifakara rural and urban cohort in Kilombero, managed by Ifakara Health Institute, Tanzania
  7. Karonga Prevention Study in Northern Malawi managed by the Malawi Epidemiology and Intervention Research Unit (MEIRU) and LSHTM
  8. Manicaland study in Eastern Zimbabwe managed by the Biomedical Research Training Institute, Harare and Imperial College London.
  9. Agincourt study in Mpumalanga Province of South Africa, managed by Witwatersrand University
  10. Umkhanyakude district cohort in KwaZulu Natal province of South Africa managed by the Africa Centre for Population Health in collaboration with the University of KwaZulu Natal, the South African MRC and University College London.